#9 “Darling, you have a crush on Elder X”

missionariesThere are many things from my past – tiny little stories of hope, faith and same-sex attraction – that I would like to and will share with you. But not all good things happened to me in former times. Since my wife and I turned a new, exciting page in our marital relationship by me becoming totally open about my unusual emotions and her becoming totally accepting of them, we’ve experienced some precious little blessings in a moment that are just as worthy of sharing.

Through those experiences, I think, you will be able to obtain a better glimpse of how our exquisite relationship works.

The other day, I got my wife’s attention while we were in church. As we were exiting the building and leaving behind two young missionaries with whom we had a brief encounter, my wife drew closer to me and whispered kindly and lovingly, without a sliver of guile, into my ear:

“Darling, you have a crush on Elder X.”

I was in shock and awe. The encounter with Elder X and his companion was so brief that I couldn’t possibly fathom how my wife could have recognized the spark of a crush in me.

“How did you know?” I exclaimed in bewilderment, “How on earth did you know? Is it that obvious?”

“No, it wasn’t that obvious, it was obvious to me.” she explained with a mysterious, but benevolent, smile on her face.

But I wasn’t satisfied with a sketchy explanation.

“What was so obvious to you? I’m embarrassed…,” I replied. The last thing I wanted is to come across to other people as someone who is wearing his same-sex attraction on his sleeve.

“Don’t be embarrassed. I clearly spotted a peculiar glare on your face when you were talking to them in that brief moment…”

“But haven’t I interacted with them indiscriminately? How on earth were you able to pinpoint precisely Elder X?”

“Well, I was watching you the other day when Elder X and his companion were with us at lunch, you had that same glare on your face when you were talking to him,” she explained.

Then she added: “But don’t worry, there has been absolutely nothing inappropriate in your behavior, and actually you were so sweet and cute while talking to him and having an obvious crush that I couldn’t take my eyes off of you!”

I have the best wife in the universe.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Arlo
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 07:09:05

    That is a cute, and slightly astonishing story. Kudos to her for understanding her marriage is not threatened by that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

