#21 I’m willing to enter into flame wars if necessary by opposing state sanctioned gay marriages

marriagesPolitical incorrectness is my passion. There is nothing sweeter or more satisfying than to administer a political insult to otherwise politically prudish individual.

And in the area of homosexuality, there is plenty of opportunity to do that, which is an additional reason why I actually like to write a blog. I haven’t done it much thus far, but maybe it is time to begin.

Besides being delightful, political slanders may boost visits. People like heated debates. So, I decided to create a separate category within this blog, in which I will publish posts with flamable themes. The category I named “Flame Wars”.

So here it is. The first installment of Flame Wars is about gay marriages.

Who are those creatures?

I hate the idea of gay marriages recognized by the government. I would never, ever support any legislation which allows gay couples to enter into a state-sanctioned matrimony. It is a vile idea just as the idea of heterosexual marriages performed by government bureaucrats is sleazy. Who are those creatures? Contemporary priests of the church of the state?

The government should get out of marriage business entirely.

Only privately organized churches and other organizations should have a prerogative to marry people. Thus, I do not oppose gay marriages per se. If you want to marry, find or establish a church or non-religious organization which would perform it. It is a despicable idea that the government should utilize its monopoly on the brute force to protect it’s own creation.

Right to be left alone

There are some who would say that what I’m saying may be true, but the nature of the state and the government has changed so much that these days it is important for gay couples to be able to sanction their relationship so that they can have various benefits guaranteed by the government. To which I say bullcrap. You gays (and straight people as well) are made slaves to an entity that is not sustainable.

Instead of fighting for your “rights” for benefits that will be brought to you by legalization of gay marriages, you should fight for your right to be left alone to do whatever you please, including to take care of yourself and to live with your spouse of the same sex. Yes, there might be a proper role of the government in your life, but that is to protect you from harassment and injury on your private property. Within the confines of your community in which you consciously decided to live, your life and your possessions are sacrosanct. And that is the only way how you can truly protect your right to do whatever you like, including to have a sexual relationship with a member of the same sex.

If you take that direction, I will support you. I will stand next to you against anyone’s attempt to create legislature which would hamper your ability to be left alone, including an attempt of my church, the Mormon church, to influence legislation of marriage on a national or Federal level. But as long as I see that gay activists work diligently to infuse their version of truth into the laws, I’m afraid won’t be willing to help in any shape and form, thank you very much.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 18:07:57

    In theory, I agree with you, and have actually done just that. Joanne and I had our ceremony 15 years ago. But, I afraid you may not get the healthy banter and discussion you are looking for because (no matter how provoking your ideas may be) they are not based on any reality that we live in right now in the US so, therefore, they are not debatable.

    It is a waste to debate on non-reality based theory, in my opinion.

    Reply

    • faithfulgaymormon
      Dec 12, 2012 @ 18:52:55

      I agree that it is not a realistic proposition right now, but I don’t see any reason why it won’t become realistic in relatively short period of time. You are flat out broke, and you live on a borrowed time. And the time is slowly but surely running out. And if you knew what you are *really* facing, all this would suddenly become exceedingly realistic. But I digress. I’ll get back to you when it comes.

      Reply

      • Tammy
        Dec 12, 2012 @ 18:57:10

        Unfortunately it will not become reality because there are too many apathetic people. Come live in America and be just as disappointed in the general population as we are. 😉 It’s a shame, isn’t it?

  2. Tammy
    Dec 12, 2012 @ 19:52:29

    BTW – do you have any rights, benefits, or regulations bestowed on you by your government because of your marriage or was it strictly a ceremony?

    Reply

    • faithfulgaymormon
      Dec 12, 2012 @ 20:33:19

      Oh, yea, many rights bestowed, but rapidly diminishing because we are also dead broke. 🙂 Those earthly rights – unlike divine rights – are very costly to maintain. 🙂

      Reply

      • Tammy
        Dec 12, 2012 @ 21:41:39

        So, why did you marry according to the governments definition of marriage instead of just having a marriage ceremony through the church? If you weren’t married in the eyes of your government would the church still consider you married?

      • faithfulgaymormon
        Dec 12, 2012 @ 23:09:25

        Because of legal constraints that exist in Europe, the LDS church marriage is not recognized as valid until solemnized by the government. Which for me is a horrifying state of affairs.

      • Tammy
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 00:00:13

        So, what you’re saying then, is you did exactly what you are espousing we not do or support here in the US?

        You have your reasons (based on your faith and government structure) to “legally” marry, yet you would not support that same desire to someone else? Seems hypocritical to me.

        Walk the talk, FG, walk the talk.

      • faithfulgaymormon
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 02:03:21

        Tammy, we are taking off the gloves, aren’t we? When the government is concerned, I do not apologize about what I do or don’t do with her, because she never apologizes for what she does with me. She is an uncontrollable beast, a bloody Leviathan, and I should better be careful unless I want to end up in prison. But that doesn’t mean I give up my right to speak up against her with everything in me. And I do attack and condemn the very legislature that forced me to solemnize my marriage by and through the government. So, please, don’t tell me about walking the talk. And by the way, I hate hypocrites unless they are hypocritical with the government. Then I praise them and commend them, and I have no problem with their hypocrisy whatsoever.

      • Tammy
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 02:35:05

        Re: hypocrisy – I’m not referring to your feelings about government – we probably share that same ideal. I’m talking about you exercising your current right to marry (even thought you see it as a “forced right”) based on the structure of your government, yet feel that we over here, who have similar reasons for wanting marriage rights, should not be fighting for right, but instead, should be fighting to remove marriage from our government.

        We are limited to our current government structure (just like you are) and are fighting to be included in it. Would we prefer marriage be removed from government oversight completely? Sure, a lot of people would probably agree. But that is not an option right now, just as it was not an option in your country.

        Therefore, why should we not have the same rights available?

      • faithfulgaymormon
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 02:43:23

        No, you should not have the same “rights” available to me, because they are not rights, they are tools of control. Instead, you should join my efforts to take away the power of the government to perform & solemnize heterosexual marriages, and once that is done, both you and I have the same right: the right to mind our own business.

      • Tammy
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 02:54:32

        Then I invite you to the even playing field by legally divorcing your wife and enjoying the same lack of “tools of control”. We will then have even ground now along with when/if we win our desire to remove marriage from the government.

        During the fight, why should you have different rights (or tools of control) than I do?
        if you hate them so much, you have the power to unleash yourself from them!

      • faithfulgaymormon
        Dec 13, 2012 @ 10:26:12

        We should have different “rights” so that you are more motivated to help me with my endeavors to nullify those “rights”. 🙂 And please, don’t pretend that you don’t understand that hating something and having the power to unleash myself from that thing are two different and completely unrelated things, particularly when government is concerned, which is by definition “monopoly of brute force”. There is nothing worse than “monopoly of brute force” in the universe.

        Also, I don’t know if you know, but in the LDS church there is a key spiritual significance in what we call “eternal marriage” which is performed only in Mormon temples. Unless I’m married in temple, I cannot receive all the blessings in mortality which God has in store for me. And the church in Europe denies me the opportunity to have temple marriage unless I am civilly married prior to that. And do you know why? Because my church is concerned that if we perform a temple marriage before civil marriage, she might get harassed by the government.

  3. Tammy
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 16:06:50

    You secured your legal marriage in order to partake in your religious rites and rituals and to do something that was important to you.

    I would like to do the same. At this point, the reasons behind the desire for legalized marriage don’t matter, nor are they anyone else’s business. The fact remains that they need to be secured based on the current government structure.

    Your post is stating “do as I say, not as I do” because instead of fighting for your rights to NOT HAVE to legalize your marriage through the government, you got married. How can you expect anyone else (in the midst of their struggle) to not do the same? Do you not see the hypocrisy? This isn’t about the government at this point – it’s about you supporting continued oppression by espousing unachievable goals that do not help the situation at hand for anyone involved.

    Reply

    • faithfulgaymormon
      Dec 13, 2012 @ 18:11:27

      I’m sorry. Reasons behind the desire for legalized marriage don’t matter to you, but they do matter to me. And yes, as I explained, I’m hypocritical and I don’t give a hoot. After all, my vote on gay marriages doesn’t matter. I’m not a Congressman. You can continue your fight, I just don’t want to be part of it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

