#24 “He descended below all things, in that he comprehended all things that he might be in all and through all things”

jesusThroughout my life, up until very recently, I was totally oblivious to meanings of what I now consider two very important words. One is vulnerability. The other is authenticity. I never thought about them as a crucial part of one’s happiness. Frankly, I didn’t think about them at all. They were simply not on my mental and spiritual radar.

That’s probably why I wasn’t as happy as I desired. Yes, I’ve seen the improvement of my happiness over the years. But not until I realized what vulnerability and authenticity are all about I was able to make a substantial leap in the quality of my emotional life.

The fact that I wasn’t able to grasp neither vulnerability nor authenticity stems from the fact that I wasn’t willing to face my same-sex attraction head-on. I swept it under the rug and thought everything is fine. Thankfully, through examples of other faithful gay men, I was able to carefully unpack my emotions and bring them closer to reality.

To call one of those men same-sex attracted many, if not most people would find preposterous. He is Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

Millions with homosexual feelings

There is a very special piece of doctrine of the LDS church which unequivocally proves that Jesus must have had feelings of same-sex attraction. According to the Doctrine and Covenants 88:6, Jesus Christ “ascended up on high, as also he descended below all things, in that he comprehended all things, that he might be in all and through all things, the light of truth”.

What does that mean? In the Gethsemane, our Savior went through excruciating pain. As He was taking upon Himself all the sins and pain of the world, He bled from every pore. He experienced anguish and suffering of the same quantity and quality as every mortal who have ever lived or will ever live on this Earth. And that includes all the millions with homosexual feelings.

Jesus Christ was the epitome of vulnerability and authenticity. And He knows exactly how I feel. He understands me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Who Me?
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 01:53:13

    I’ve heard this explanation before, and I think the Savior did even more than you suggest. I think Christ did more than experiencing “anguish and suffering of the same quantity and quality as every mortal who have ever lived or will ever live on this Earth.” Among the Zoramites, Amulek taught, “Now, if a man murdereth, behold will our law, which is just, take the life of his brother? I say unto you, Nay. But the law requireth the life of him who hath murdered; therefore there can be nothing which is short of an infinite atonement which will suffice for the sins of the world.” (Alma 34:11-12) Christ’s suffering was not just a sum total of the world’s pain and suffering, but an infinite and eternal sacrifice, beyond any finite sum. Compared to infinity, any finite quantity is negligible, and only such a sacrifice is sufficient for the atonement.

    Let’s say someone robs a bank. If a rich benefactor pays the bank back, does that obsolve the robber of the crime? Not really. The law was still broken. Christ did not just suffer a one-to-one payment, He suffered infinitely more, so that his sacrifice would be perfect (by which I mean complete). It’s like Christ payed an infinite price which would make money worthless, and therefore the crime would be absolved since money doesn’t really matter.

    However, this bank robber metaphor breaks down when we look at our agency. Our choices still matter, because they help to make us who we are. If we want to be like Christ, we have to make choices in alignment with that goal. The atonement makes it possible to continue to strive to be like Christ, even when we mess up and make choices that take us away from our goal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

